Diversity at Scissett Middle School



We work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • There are no outsiders at Scissett Middle School
  • Everyone is different
  • We celebrate our differences
  • We are all equal in our differences





The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:



  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


At Scissett Middle School, we actively promote these in our curriculum and Personal development programme and work to embed them into our ethos and values which are set on the foundation of RESPECT.